And the first semester draws to an end…

Drama, Students, Theatre, University

Good Afternoon readers,

It’s fair to say that it’s been a long time since I wrote to you. I wrote to you last in the first three weeks at university, believing that I’d continue to write to you every day, or at the very least, every week. Of course, I didn’t quite grasp how busy I was going to be as time moved on.

After those three weeks, university just took a landslide of work and rehearsals. If you remember I had lectures close to everyday. On a Monday and Tuesday I was in from nine in the morning till three, Wednesdays I was in from ten till one and then Thursdays were three till five. After a while Thursday lectures turned into rehearsal time so that wasn’t too bad, but that more or less meant that Thursdays became all day affairs. As well as all of that, my studio practice started and that was on a Wednesday morning, Thursday morning and Friday afternoon. So this pretty much gave me a full week, now studio practice is close to everyday. On top of that I had rehearsals for my verbatim piece, however we’ve now done our mock for that and I’m proud to say that if it was the real thing, we’ve been told we’d have passed so that’s excellent news. Now I’m just waiting to do my theatre history performance on the upcoming Tuesday. That isn’t even put together yet fully, we’ve got like pieces and we’ve done a very rough run but as all good drama does, it’ll come together at the last minute so it’s just waiting for that to be over.

Another good thing that I’m quite proud of is that we had our first assignment due a week or so back, it was 2000 words. I managed to complete it in two days and got the actual assignment in two days early as well, a shock to the assignment office. Apparently DinC’s (Drama in the Community) students don’t hand in assignments early, so that made me feel good. The only problem is now waiting for my results, it shouldn’t be too long now, we are meant to get them back on the last day of term so I’m hoping for the best.

Only two weeks to go now.

On the last week of term one of my best mates is coming down to stay with me for the week and then on that same week is my studio practice, so it’s not long now and something I’m definitely looking forward too. It’s been a long term with many ups and downs so to say I’m looking forward to it is an under statement. Christmas is going to be a well deserved break.

It’s hard to describe to you or accurately put into words just what is the experience of university and yes, I’ve only been here one term but there has been so much going on here already, it seems like a life time of experience in a very short amount of time and it’s quite frightening but at the same time, a real thrill. It’s been a real challenge for myself and I believe it has for a lot of my friends as well and on one hand, I think to myself, I would change so much of what has happened but then on the other I think to myself, all has happened for a reason and even though the stress has nearly got the better of me, I’ve just got to keep on moving.

I won’t lie to you, university is a challenge, especially within the first term, or so I’ve found. It’s a big change, it flips your world upside down but I think all in all, it’s how you handle it and how you take it is what matters. Like I’ve said, you just have to keep pushing on and not get lost in the hustle and bustle. I won’t lie to you, I’ve nearly dropped out a few terms because of the big questioning that goes through my head, trying to debate whether or not it’s the right place for me, if I should be there, whether I’ll stay etc. It’s a lot to take in and of course a good few years of my life that I’ve got to decide on. So again, you just take it in your stride and hope for the best.

I know it’s only a short post, but today is a day I’ve actually been able to have a lay in and watch some films so I’m going to go back to relaxing. I’m not going to make promises for when I’ll post but I’ll try again as soon as possible.

All the best,

JustGeorgeJ

Leave a Reply

