First Semester / DONE!

Drama, Male, Personal, Students, Theatre, University

So, it’s fair to say again, as usual when I start writing blogs and what not, that, it’s been a while since I last posted. I don’t know why I leave such long spaces of time between when I write, I suppose, I’m just busy. I posted six weeks back in April when my first term was drawing to an end with just six weeks left and what a six weeks it was! Busy, busy, busy! But I got through it and now I am where I am, finished my first year at university!

So, as much as possible, I’ve been keeping you all up to date with what has been going on at university. You got updates here, there and everywhere. Some random, some relevant and just basically me rambling on to update my WordPress. I don’t use it a lot but I find it exciting knowing that every now and again I can turn to something and just start writing, whether anyone reads it or not, it’s a release and I get my story out there.

You all know that the first year of university had it’s up and downs. Well, from what I’ve said in my previous posts and to be honest, that remained to be true right up until the end. Despite all the ups and downs, university has definitely taught me a lot, both course wise and life lessons wise.

Halls : You either love it or you hate it, I started off by loving it but quickly learned to hate it. Being stuck in those four walls day and night, no matter how much time you felt you spent out of them, was just too much. They drove you crazy and not having any other space to escape to was horrible.

Eating/Drinking : Eating, starts off with you trying to cook good meals for yourself and trying to be good but then it turns into the same meals week in and week out until you start buying takeaways like they are going out of fashion. Drinking loses its buzz, well, it certainly did for me. I started off by not going out, then going out every week and then to not going out again because I just felt it was boring, depending on the peope you went out with.

People : Friendship groups shift like the changing of the seasons. One minute your close to one group and then you are not, one minute you are talking to someone all the time and then you aren’t. Things change with people easily at university, you move from group to group and only ever keep one or two close friends with you throughout. It’s a difficult ride.

Course : The course you take, for me personally, was exciting. It offered me a lot and I gained a lot from it. I miss it already and it was stressful at times but it made it what it was.

Chances/Opportunities/Getting Involved : This is something I didn’t do enough of. Take any chances offered to you, don’t be lazy. DO THEM! Any opportunity that comes your way, take it in your stride and love it, you never know where it will take you and no matter what, get involved with everything and anything, especially at your SU, it might seem boring or make you look like a loser but you’ll make good friends and have a great time. Like I said, I failed to do enough of this.

One last thing, I think, is to expect the unexpected. Days at university are crazy, one minute you are sitting there doing nothing, the next you are going to Harry Potter world or doing an Indian cultural dance to a bunch of school children. University is like a rollercoaster day to day and you never know what is going to happen, so enjoy it and make the most of it.

First year is over for me. Though I couldn’t wait for it to be over because of the stress it caused me and how tired I was feeling, now it’s over, I feel sad. I’m no longer a fresher, I no longer get to experience the thrill of doing everything at university for the first time, even though I am still settling in to the university says after a year of being there. It has ways of surprising you and thrilling you but in the end, you look back and you have a shed load of memories and you can’t wait to continue on! Already I look forward to moving into the new house, away from halls, with my close friends. I look forward to the second year and everything that will come with it. I look forward to continuing my journey through university.

Where is my life going? Honestly, right now, I have no idea. I’m just taking each day as it comes, we’ll see where it takes me.

I don’t know when I’ll write again, but for now, you have this post.

Many thanks,

JustGeorgeJ

Leave a Reply

