It’s not 2016 yet, but, the point still stands. It’s nearly over, so, it’s time to finally write. I’ve been gone for a while, why? Let me explain.

Obviously when I started this blog back up it was summer. Therefore, I had a lot of time to write and a lot of time to keep up to date with my posts.

As I was beginning my second year and I moved into the house, again, I was posting often and I intended to keep going so therefore there would be regular content on the site ready to read whenever, however, what I didn’t intend on was the landslide of work that second year would bring.

Therefore, this is the reason I haven’t been posting.

The reason I decided to post this tonight was purely down to the fact that WordPress emailed me about my “2015 in Review” and seeing it made me realised how much I posted in 2015 and then suddenly stopped – therefore, what have I been doing?

As I said, I got stuck under a landslide of work that second year had to offer to me. I’ve been working on three different modules, all of which were fairly interesting. For the millionth time, for those of you that don’t know – don’t remember – or don’t care, I study Drama in The Community up in Lincoln and have been studying the following modules:

  • Shakespeare (From Page to Stage)
  • Contemporary Theatre
  • Interdisciplinary Module

All of which have been interesting, knowledgable and engaging… if not exhausting. Shakespeare has been the most challenging. Especially learning the language and putting it to performance but it was extremely fun. No matter how stressful the process was.

Contemporary was equally interesting. It was all about finding out and reading up on Contemporary playwrights, exploring the history behind it and then choosing a contemporary playwright and then creating a presentation around that playwright with extracts from their plays as well as commentary about their life.

The interdisciplinary module has been my second favourite module to study, down to the fact it’s been a mixture of different areas of the arts. Specially, theatre arts. We’ve gone into Site Specific, Social and Political, Therapeutic, Educational and Corporate Theatre – all with different lecturers and learning through different workshops – combined with theory.

On top of all of this I had multiple assignments and assessments to support all of them… and currently, two portfolios – which I should be doing now – but no, I’m writing this instead… it’s not like I want that degree or anything.

Moving on from university, I’ve been working at the same time. I worked the Lincoln Christmas Market – which, if you don’t know, is extremely busy. Therefore, imagine the fun I had.

Now, as all of you are preparing for crazy nights out or nights in celebrating your family… I am preparing for an early night because I have work at 12pm until… well, I don’t know what time. I’ll be welcoming the New Year in at work, yippie to me!

For now, I hope you have all had a fantastic 2015 and I hope you all have a wonderful 2016. I will be attempting to post more as 2016 starts.

Leave a Reply

