I believe in this case, the title is pretty self explanatory. This blog started off being a way in which I could document my journey through universty and as time has gone on I’ve moved away from that and started writing other articles, but I thought it was time to return to how I started. I wrote an article at the beginning of my journey, I’ll write one at the end, so it’s only fair to write one half way through. So, here we go.

There is no need repeating all the information you already know. You know what university I go to, you know the course I study and well, I’m now in second year and half way through my course. You know what? It’s terrifying. It feels like I only started yesterday but here I am, half way through my course and it’s just come around in a flash.

Second year was nothing like I expected it to be and the work came in an avalanche. Before I knew it I was underneath all these assignments, portfolios, practicals, presentations and rehearsals. It’s had it’s up and downs but I’d say overall it’s been enjoyable.

So, what have I actually been up too? Well from my previous articles you will know that this year I moved into a student house with three of my friends. Two from my course and one from outside the course. The housing situation has been lovely so far – as with halls there is always moments were you may not get on, or there are arguments but they will always sort themselves out. We’ve definitely made it out own little home and it literally is our home now, not just a house. I feel comfortable, happy and safe here and I definitely feel like we made the right choice in housing. After settling into the house it was time to start back on my course. As I mentioned in a previous article we started out doing three modules: Page to Stage; Contemporary and Interdisciplinary. Page to Stage was focusing on Shakespeare, meaning we were given a theme (for example my group had villiany) and then we had to create a piece (like an anthology) of work using extracts from different plays that centred around our theme. I enjoyed this module most of all purely because it was challenging and pushed my abilities further. Contemporary gave me the insight to study history of this area as well study playwrights and what not and then interdisciplinary was my second favourite because there were so many different avenues to explore. So all in all, I’ve had a lot to take away from last term and gained a lot more knowledge and insight into areas of my course.

We are now fresh in 2016 now and the talk between me and my flatmates keeps circling back round to the fact we are half way through our time at university. Before starting university all I could think about was how I had three years ahead of me and how it didn’t seem to come quick enough. Now, here I am. How do I feel about it? Uneasy is probably the most accurate word I can use. I feel unprepared for what is to come. All my grandad used to tell was to “stay in education as long as possible” and of course, there is plenty of opportunity for me to do that. For example, when I finish this course I want to go on to do a PGCE. However, I don’t know if that’s the way things will turn out. I just don’t know where I want my future to go. I’m currently in the process of interviewing for a job that I honestly believe could be my ideal career, but, we’ll have to see how that works out. Knowing that time is flying by this quickly really does make growing up feel more overwhelming. I’m sad that first year is already behind me and all I have left is the memories, but don’t get me wrong those memories will last a laugh time, then on the other hand I’m excited for what is to come.

This brings me to where I am now. Waiting to start my second term of second year and see where that takes me. Lectures everyday and watching the weeks fly by. Therefore, this brings this entry to a close but there will be more to come, whenever I have free time.

Leave a Reply

