Third Year | First Week Back

Accommodation, advice, Answers, Articles, blog, blogs, course, Drama, education, Family, finance, Finances, First Year, Freshers, Friends, Health, help, helpful, hints, Home, House, Housing, Journey, justgeorgej, money, New, peer, Personal, preparation, prepare, prepared, pressure, Questions, Second Year, SecondYear, Social, Student, Students, study, Studying, Theatre, Third Year, tips, uni, University

I have now officially started Third Year at University. To be exact, I am one week into the year. It’s fair to say, a breakdown is imminent.

Okay, that might be a bit of an exaggeration but never the less, there was a lot of information to take in in one week. 

So, Wednesday was my first day back at university – after that couple of hours back in my first lecturer my head wanted to explode. Just hearing what was ahead for third year was crazy. Even though I’d prepared so much for university and didn’t think anything could knock me down, two hours back in Third Year and it was like a system overload. Not that I want to scare anybody else who’s about to start Third Year, it was just a lot.

Following that day I was in Thursday and Friday and those lectures weren’t too bad – we weren’t sitting down listening to theory all the time and it was nice to ease back into some practical as the year started – but again, my mind couldn’t settle about all that we head to do.

Anyway, I’ll back track a little and explain what I’ve been up too;

Wednesday;

On Wednesday we started our first module of the year which was Studio Practice – which I believe I’ve mentioned previously. I was only in this lecture for two hours but like I said there was a lot of information to take in – in a short space of time and I didn’t know how to feel. No matter how scary it is – it was quite exciting at the same time and some of my plans for the year ahead are even more exciting.

Thursday;

On Thursday we started our Educational Drama module which I’m beyond excited for. I love placement and love putting what I’ve learned into action and imparting knowledge onto the generations below – although what I have to do for assessments in this module is fairly terrifying, I’m equally looking forward to accepting the challenge ahead. Even if I don’t want this year to move fast.

Friday;

On Friday we started our Directing and Devising module. A module that goes hand in hand with my Studio Practice module and one that I am looking forward to do as I get to direct a group in ‘A Streetcar Named Desire’ which is one of my favourite performances. Again, the assessments are demanding but should be fun in the long run!

And that, in a nutshell, is my first week back in Third Year! It was a rollercoaster but in the long run, I think it’s going to be a fun experience!

Leave a Reply

